The campaign for genuine road safety
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 09:39

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Speed Camera Documentary
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 21:25 
New User
New User

Hello

I am a student at the University of Glamorgan studying in my final year of a Media Production degree with my major in broadcast Journalism. My main project is to create and film a documentary, which I have chosen to base on speed cameras and how they affect the road user. I would be very grateful if I could meet with someone who has been caught and/or a represenative against speed cameras and maybe film a short interview to contribute towards my documentary and my degree. My email address is aaronharding171@hotmail.com

Thankyou

Aaron Harding

Profile Send private message  

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 00:06 
Site Admin

Well there are many issues surrounding Speed Cameras as the website analyses.
Road safety is a highly involved and sophisticiated human behaviour that takes good intelligent research, excellent advice and development to help improve the road state conditions.

Key factors in driving are :
skill
knowledge
experience
psychology

beyond that :
concentration / consideration / courtesy
observation - everything possible
anticipation / awareness / attitude - and risk assess each hazard
Space - speed reduction & 2 sec rule - from you and others all about you - control your space
Time - to react to potential hazard and the earliest anticipation of hazard

See - Ten seconds to impact - as avoiding crashes is what Good Road Safety is predominantely all about, Speed Cameras do nothing to achieve this aim and in fact cause more problems through negative effects than they ever solve.
By all means call me ... to discuss further.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:17 
User