Safe Speed Forums

The campaign for genuine road safety
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 07:18

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 23:12 
New User
New User

I received an NIP 3days after I was "caught" by a mobile camera, doing 91mph on a motorway with a 70mph limit, ran by the Central Scotland Safety Camera Partnership.

I viewed the video, and it (regrettably) is clearly me.

I currently have a CU80 (mobile phone) from 21/11/2008 for which I got 3 points, as well as a SP30 (44 in a 30 zone) from 04/06/09, for which I received another 3 points

( I also had 3 from a TS10 (red-light) from June 2005 )

My question is what do you think I could expect as a conviction (especially from this police force?)

Would it be £60 (or more) and 3 points?

Would it be more than 5 points, leading to a 3month/6month ban, under the "topping up" rule?

Could I plead an "exceptional hardship" defence if this went to court, as I am a field based engineer, and if I lose my licence, I lose my job - and then that would basically lead to me losing my (and that of my family - partner & 2 kids) house?

Profile Send private message  

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 00:51 
Friend of Safe Speed
Friend of Safe Speed

91 in a 70 is 3 points and the nominal 'admin' fee (60-75 pounds). For this, you certainly will be convicted.

Your points will be valid for your CU80 and SP30; your TS10 has long expired.
Points are 'active' (meaning they count towards totting up) on your licence for 3 years. They will remain on your licence for 4 years (so 'passive' for 1 year afterwards); you have to declare to your insurers for 5 years.
So at worst you will have 9 'active' points on your licence, until 21/11/2011.
Hence after 21/11/2011 there will be only 6 active points on your licence.
Drivers face losing their licence when there are 12 active points on their licence.

So as long as you don't get any more points in the next 4 weeks, you shouldn't face a ban.